The Jumblies

A ballet (based on the poem
by Sir Edward Lear)
John Craton


The Jumblies is a nonsense ballet based on the poem by Sir Edward Lear (full text of the poem is linked below). The music is something of a “nonsense tone-poem” but is envisioned to be accompanied by choreography. The musical segments are as follows:

“The water it soon came in”
“And all night long they sailed away”
The Western Sea
“And they bought an Owl
“A hive of silvery Bees”
“And they bought a Pig”
“And some green Jack-daws”
“A lovely Monkey with lollipop paws”
“In twenty years” & Finale

Performance time is approximately 30 minutes. Instrumentation: piccolo, flute, oboe, Bb clarinet, bassoon/contrabassoon, harp, piano, strings, and percussion (timpani, tenor drum, bass drum, cymbals, wood blocks, temple blocks, xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, glockenspiel, chimes, maracas, triangle, gong). Please write to inquire about score availability.

Copyright © 2018 by John Craton
Illustration by Leslie Brooke (public domain)

Full text of “The Jumblies” by Sir Edward Lear

Photos from the 18 May 2019 Premiere


Return to Music Catalogue.