Six Japanese Songs for Soprano and Piano

Six Japanese Songs utilizes short Japanese texts translated into English. The work is composed in a style that is something of a departure from what I generally write. They are what might be termed neo-impressionist. Almost onomatopoeic, they represent my attempt at writing “nature music” and seek to capture the essence of the haiku — short, fleeting images impressed upon the listener’s consciousness. The work is dedicated to Arlette de Leeuw and is published by Wolfhead Music.

  I.  “Asuka“ (1:09)
  II.  “Two Butterflies“ (:35)
  III.  “Waiting“ (1:10)
  IV.  “Mirror-pond of Stars“ (2:49)
  V.  “Young Frogs“ (1:00)
  VI.  “Sadness“ (2:02)
   Copyright © 2003 by John Craton

RETURN to catalogue.